Goldfish Have Memories. How Else Would They Remember to Swim?

I’ve always liked these two pictures. It was, almost like a bastard child, an accident. Fiddling with the settings, I wanted to take random pictures during the night-time travels of my road trip. The pictures of the moving vehicles came out as so. There was another, of a red line, stretching across the frame, created by the tail light of a truck as it sped by, but I’ve lost it.

Now I could bullshit you by saying, these pictures could be interpreted as a metaphor for life. How things aren’t always what they seem, and even accidents can come out reasonably acceptable. I won’t though, because it’s unnecessary.

This is the light house, found at the Cape. Cape Reinga that is. I went there, on my travels. I’m not sure if it is the same travels in which the two other images were taken though.

As you can see, it is a lighthouse, with solar panels attached. How green. How New Zealand. If you look, you would see there is a person standing next to the lighthouse. That person, is not me. I could’ve photoshopped the person out of the image, but you’re not worth it.

This sign, was also taken at Cape Reinga. Probably no more than 100 metres away from the lighthouse. It serves to demonstrate how isolated New Zealand is, by highlighting the distance between the most Northern part of our country, and the rest of the world. In other words, it’s saying in big, bold, bright neon font, that New Zealand is in the middle of bum fuck nowhere.

It may come as a surprise to some, that I used to blog when I was younger. As is now, I write a bunch of bullshit, updating people on irrelevant and trivial aspects of my day. Back then, it mainly consisted of how lazy and useless I was. There were some attempts at a serious entry, every now and again. It never lasted long, since it seemed to garner too much unwanted attention. This is not to say, my blogs of today contain no meaning. They more often than not, carry a serious undertone, of my thoughts, while referencing many things from pop culture and such. It is simply, disguised and manicured into something that can be read nonchalantly.

Who am I kidding. It’s all laughable. The produce of a mind wanting to fill in time, and create nonsense.

In my old blog, which I used to maintain, after a while I ran out of bullshit to write. So I resorted to posting entries containing all the hilarity (in the form of images) that I had found on the Net of Inter. Sometimes they would contain commentary, sometimes they would be left to hold up the entry by themselves.

The point is; it seems I have started to reach that point once again, in this new attempt at blogging. It has yet to reach a month (three weeks? if that), and the limit of my creativity is being tested.

To be honest though, I’ve never been too creative. I’ve always enjoyed a good laugh, but my humour has never been all that witty. It’s usually quite dry, with a splash of silly, and an extremely generous dollop sarcasm. I’ve gotten by, since pretty much as long as I can remember being that way. I guess I’ve never truly felt like what I had to say, my insights, my opinions, mattered that much. It always seemed like whenever I tried to express myself seriously, with any conviction, people would get bored and want the happy-go-lucky guy back. Fair enough really.

The truth is, I don’t mind too much at the end of the day. Friends for me, are hard to acquire, while proper friends, are rarer than true happiness and self content. The only explanation I can think of, is that I’ve grown into this role. Perhaps it’s no longer a skin I wear to present myself to the world anymore. Perhaps, it is me. It went from a hobby, to a full-time commitment. It’s my career, my lifetime achievement, my legacy.

Wow, this blog went from average, to depressing. It has also most certainly gone on long enough, not to mention the over the top level of irony it contains (maybe more so of contradictions). Forgive me. It’s rambling from a tired insomniac, with a convoluted mind and a head cold.

  1. Sarcastic and contradictory? That’s a shocking omission…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

